R.I.P. R.E.M.

Tonight at the dinner table we were discussing my son’s homework.
Son: Dad do you know what Degrees of Freedom is?
Me: Of course, it’s a great name for a band!

This got me to thinking about an article I read today in the SJ Merc – R.E.M., America’s best rock band, breaks up after 31 years.  The article, about R.E.M.’s announcement that they were done has lot of merit.  Are they the best band form the states?  I dunno, I really like R.E.M.  They’ve had some great tunes.  But are they the BEST from the US?

There’s been a lot of really great bands over time.  Some who were flashes and went out well before their time, for example Nirvana and Guns N’ Roses.  Others had more staying power: Van Halen, The Eagles, Aerosmith, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band.  Heck I’m sure you can name 2 dozen more without blinking an eye.

The best part about music, and other art forms, is whatever you like is, well, put simply what you like and that shouldn’t matter to anyone else.  If you like it, do like the guy in the Freedom Rock commercials (yes I’m dating myself) says and “Turnnnnn it up man!” Just make sure you are wearing your headphones while in cubeland.

So with that, I’m starting a new trend here in CubicleViews – Cube Tunes.

Cube Tunes is going to be a my periodic suggestion for cubicle headphone music.  These are just some of the tunes that I am listening to on my headphones while trying to tune out the 2 speaker phone conference calls, 1 dialog about where two people should go for lunch and a heated debate about whether the software upgrade happens tonight at 6pm or tonight at 8pm.

So in honor of R.E.M. here are two Cube Tunes, via Spotify:

Fall On Me
Man On The Moon-Live In Dublin

R.I.P. R.E.M. It’s the End of the World as We Know It.  And, you know what.  I do feel fine.

About CubicleViews

Observations, thoughts & random bitching about cube life, food, beer, wine, whiskey and sometimes politics. Living the dream in a 6×8 doorless polyester walled cell.
This entry was posted in Cube Tunes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to R.I.P. R.E.M.

  1. Pingback: Great Band Names (and other things I never thought I’d say) | Stream of the Conscious

  2. Pingback: Great Band Names (and other things I never thought I'd say) | A Nervous Tic Motion

  3. Pingback: What Makes Me Tic? | The Cubicle Views

  4. Pingback: What Makes Me Tic? » A Nervous Tic Motion

  5. free penny press says:

    “Man on the Moon” ranks right up there with one of my all time Favorite REM tunes..when they broke up I ripped my collar and wore a black armband for 3 days.. Thank God for You tube & ipods!

    Thanks mucho for the link up!

  6. Pingback: The Soundtrack of My Life | The Cubicle Views

Leave a Reply

