A peek through the opening of my 3.5 walled cube

Had an experience last night that got me thinking (get your minds out of the gutter please). So I met a fellow blogger last night – yep, in real life! Just one of those chance come out of the ether into the real world and bump into one another experiences.  We were talking and I mentioned that I liked her tweets and posts.  Told her that being a newbie at this blogging stuff I am constantly uttering things like – I don’t get this crap. Or, it’s weird putting out some thoughts on virtual paper, hitting “publish” and…queue crickets chripping.

It’s a lot like: If you write a post and put it out there and no one gives you feedback…is it real?  Sure you get statistics of hits, clicks, views, whatever.  And, yes the omnipresent Google has some analytical tools to use, but it’s always nice to hear someone say, “Hey, I like your work. Keep it up.”

So, being the New Year and all, I thought I’d share a few of the people from the blogosphere, twitterdom, interwebs, that I like, read and follow regularly.  These are people or groups who make me laugh, think, smack my head on my 10% gray colored cubicle desk fiberboard slab. Some are serious; many are not.  And, I suggest you take a gander their way too.

Armstrong & Getty Radio – Two guys and their support team who can talk politics and pop culture with the best of them.  They make me laugh daily. Check them out on twitter, the radio, podcast and the web. @aandgshow

Steve Tobak – A writer for the CBSNews.com site who discusses leadership, qualities of or lack thereof. Always insightful and a good daily read. @SteveTobak

Confessions of a Corporate Drone.  A self-proclaimed Mindless robot for the corporation. This drone, like others, makes you realize that all companies have issues…and somehow that makes you feel better. @corporatedrone1

The Blogess.  What a writer.  If you read you’ll know she puts it all out there.  Plus, She’s got a picture of Will Wheaton on her site.  Anyone with the guy who played Wesley Crusher (Star Trek TNG) and Gordie Lachance (Stand By Me) on their site has got to be special. @TheBloggess

The Collard Sheep. This is a collection of writers and contributors all about life in the workplace. They are also an agregator for the twitter feeds associated with #NewsFromTheCube or #NFTC.  Join the Sheeple! @CollaredSheep

The Manwife Chronicles. HILLARIOUS.  A guy who’s lost his job (more than once) and is now Mr Mom tweeting and writing about his journey.  @TheManwife

MeetingBoy.  This guy is one that I’ve followed for a long, long time. Maybe this tweet just sums him up for me: In space no one can hear you scream. On a conference call no one can see you give them the finger. @MeetingBoy

A Nervous Tic Motion – more specifcally, Wineconed Wednesday feature.  A parenting blog? WTF? Yes, this is a parent blog.  Well, I am a parent or do my best to try anyway! But, not only is it good writing by a number of contributors, but they have been good to me about giving me feedback.  Thanks ladies (you are all ladies right?) @ANervousTic

So, give them a read, a listen, a view and let them know what you think of their work.

And, if you have suggestions for me pass them on!

About CubicleViews

Observations, thoughts & random bitching about cube life, food, beer, wine, whiskey and sometimes politics. Living the dream in a 6×8 doorless polyester walled cell.
This entry was posted in Good Reads and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A peek through the opening of my 3.5 walled cube

  1. Pingback: Wineconed Wednesday – Wine and Whiskey Edition | A Nervous Tic Motion

Leave a Reply

