Click and Ask For Forgiveness Later

So there I was minding my own business, well technically minding my job for my company’s business while sitting at my desk, when my iPhone gave me that tell tale sign of a text message BUZZ!

Ooooo! An electronic shiny object! As this text has got to be more interesting than the 20th email of the day from someone bitching about something, quick grab phone.

This particular correspondence was from one of the readers of this blog. Someone yours truly hasn’t met, but whom I’ve had numerous interactions with in electronic formats. That which follows below is a synopsis of the conversation:

Her: You know you really should step up your social media interactions.
Me: Um ok splain please
Her: So, you’ve got a blog and a Twitter account. You’ve got a Facebook profile, but face it you have like 4 friends.
Me: Do I need more? After all, my blog and twitter are anonymous, so are they really “friends”? BTW you aren’t one of them!
Her: Do you want to be famous? Do you want The Cubicle Views to become a major motion picture where some hot, strapping, young up-and-coming Hollywood actor will portray you?
Me: Major as in major failure?
Her: Seriously, you need to step up your social profile. Start by creating a Facebook Page.

And, so it began…
First stop – Google and search: Facebook Page.

Second stop – Google and search: What the f*** is the difference between a Facebook Page and Profile.

Boiling it all down here’s what I’ve determined:

So a Profile is for an individual. OK that’s me.
A Page is more for a company, an organization, an artist or even a brand. Hmm, that’s not me.
Further, a page allows those people and/or entities to capture new audiences and communicate with it’s fans.
Wait did it say fans? I need a page!

I’m off! Facebook’s site has plenty of guides to get you started. A few clicks later and I had the beginnings of a Facebook Page for The Cubicle Views. But, as with most things…the Devil is in the details! So, with that I was full steam ahead. Worst case, I click on a few things, it all blows up and I ask for forgiveness from my 4, er almost half dozen (which sounds better? Oh never mind.) friends.

With the basics done it was onward to what I’ll call “advanced Facebook page making” options. Well, maybe advanced for me, which means it would actually be rocket science to my family. Hey, if I can walk Dad through the Facebook basics I can handle this! With a little stubbornness, misguided confidence and perhaps a tad of the liquid encouragement (aka whiskey) I’m sure I can handle it.

A click here to link up my newly created page to my WordPress account. A click there to unlink the old profile. A click to link my page to my twitter account. A test tweet.

Woah emergency break!

Wait, what do you mean everything’s getting tweeted and tweeted twice? Hmm, that’s not good. After some poking around, I had what I’ll call some sort of circular setting. Tweet here, posts there, which tweets here.

Click, unclick, reclick, retest, good to go.

And, there we have it…all seems to be working and the new TheCubicleViews Facebook Page is live. Take a look. Like it if you…well…”Like It”. And, if you don’t I’ll ask for forgiveness later.

P.S. Now if I can only figure out how to work with multiple personalities on Instagram.

P.P.S. Not sure who will play the young me in the major motion picture, but I see Ed Norton as the older more seasoned CV.

P.P.P.S. Everything should come with an undo button. Just saying.

About CubicleViews

Observations, thoughts & random bitching about cube life, food, beer, wine, whiskey and sometimes politics. Living the dream in a 6×8 doorless polyester walled cell.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Click and Ask For Forgiveness Later

  1. Good luck! I hope it takes off like a wildfire. Maybe you will end up with thousands of “friends” that you have never met. Those are the best kind of friends in my book.

Leave a Reply

