Let Me Teach You How To Fish

Despite what people say, there are stupid questions. And, there are A LOT of them lately in my world it seems.

Technology is supposed to make things easier. The web, in all it’s gloriousness (yes that’s a word in The Kingdom of CV), provides answers to EVERYTHING you want at your finger tips.

In my company we put all things that any coworker would ever need on the company interwebs, including links to psychological counseling. Apparently that’s needed in our little slice of One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest heaven…who knew?

So why is it that my coworkers never use the webs and always ask me to send stuff to them?

Because their F’in lazy that’s why!

There’s an old saying that goes something like: If you give a man a fish you’ll feed him for a day, but if you teach him to fish he’ll feed himself for a lifetime.

Today 3 coworkers, separately mind you, wanted me to give them fish. So, instead of giving them what they wanted I pointed out for the bazillionth time where they could find the info.

And, put this in my signature line of the email

20120619-000202.jpg

Me, I think if you teach them to fish they’ll leave you the fuck alone.

About CubicleViews

Observations, thoughts & random bitching about cube life, food, beer, wine, whiskey and sometimes politics. Living the dream in a 6×8 doorless polyester walled cell.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Let Me Teach You How To Fish

  1. free penny press says:

    Oh you work with those types too? I have an answer for those types when they are IM’ing me to death…one word, SEARCH.. it’s a magical tool invented, and voila seek and ye shall find.. Our interweb is ginormous too!
    yeah, get your own damn pole, dammit 🙂

    • CubicleViews says:

      Exactly. We even have a step by step here is what you need to do thing on our site. Yet amazingly I still get questions like “what’s the next step?”

      People are special.

  2. hoogator says:

    Does technology really make life easier? I’ll give you convenient, but I feel like technology definitely complicates life. It’s a subtle distinction, and perhaps too academic (then again, so am I).

    Totally with you, though. The first answer in our lab was always “Have you tried Google?”

  3. That post it makes me laugh. Every. Time. “Well can you just send it?” No.

  4. Pingback: The Weekly TPS Report – June 22 | The Cubicle Views

Leave a Reply

