Thoughts on the Fourth of July…

These are some of the things running through my mind on this, the 4th of July, 2012…

  • The 4th of July to me is: warm weather, BBQ, small towns, lot’s of cold beer, little flags that local realtors put on your lawn, family & friends, sippin whiskey, and laying on a blanket with my kids at the park staring into the sky guessing the color of the first big explosion in the night sky.
  • The 4th of July is known as Independence Day. I’d be willing to bet that our Founding Fathers would flip a lid at how many people in the U.S. of A. are actually dependent on the government.
  • I saw this bumper sticker last week and it pretty well sums what I’d like to say to that dependent group:
  • This is the “Land of the Free and the Home of the Brave”. Yet, we are probably the most regulated country in the world. We have all kinds of laws. You can’t do this, that or the other thing. You can do this, but only how we tell you to do it. Heck last summer there was rash of kids lemonade stands being shut down because you never know when Al Qaeda will infiltrate our youth in an attempt to attack us via one sour cup of liquid $0.25 at a time.
  • I’m a registered Independent as I think all politicians pretty much suck. But, I think Reagan, they guy who people either love for architecting the 80’s or hate for architecting the 80’s was spot on with this:
  • Andy Griffith passed away yesterday. His show, aptly named The Andy Griffith Show, originally aired a little before my time, but I had seen pretty much every episode. I miss the innocence and simplicity of that show and those times (another good example is Leave it to Beaver). I think these shows have many good messages that we could all benefit from hearing.There’s some good TV on these days (and some crappy TV too), but I encourage you to turn Nick on and get your kids to watch shows like Andy and The Beav. Have them watch Schoolhouse Rock (you can get it on iTunes I did!). Yeah there were problems back then, but boy those were the days.
  • The past is just that, the past. It’s gone. But, I do think we can learn from it to make the present and the future better. Perhaps instead of trying to create a great Utopia here (and elsewhere) we should focus on the core values that got us here in the first place – hard work, having pride in ourselves, taking responsibility for what we do, teaching our youngins these things, being parents…maybe that is Utopia.

So, on this 236 birthday of the U.S. of A. I salute you Ol’ Glory and here’s to the boom of fireworks strong enough to give you chest compressions!

P.S. I think the first one is going to be red.

*****Update*****
P.P.S. And the winner was…Red, White and Blue simultaneously. Of course.

About CubicleViews

Observations, thoughts & random bitching about cube life, food, beer, wine, whiskey and sometimes politics. Living the dream in a 6×8 doorless polyester walled cell.
This entry was posted in Government and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Thoughts on the Fourth of July…

  1. I just complained to the Hubs that I had nothing to write about. He said, Write about what the fourth means to you. I couldn’t imagine how to do that. Now I understand. Nice post. Happy 4th of July!

    • CubicleViews says:

      LOL, I kept thinking all day yesterday, “crap, I’ve got nothing to write about” too. Sometimes just putting down my random thoughts turns into something (often a bunch of crap).
      And, Happy 4th to you too!

  2. “Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.” – George Santayana

  3. Key word there is responsibility – personal.
    Here’s to warm weather and evenings spent drinking whiskey under the stars. And thanks to everyone who’s made it possible for us to be independent so we can turn around and demand the dependance on gvmt.
    PS – Everyone knows the first firework is white. It’s like a warm up.

  4. free penny press says:

    “having pride in ourselves, taking responsibility for what we do, teaching our youngins these things, “..that my friend is it in a nutshell.. somewhere along the way a sense of entitlement feel into peoples heads and morality was thrown out with the bathwater..

    Great 4th post.. hope your time with the kids & fireworks is a BANG!!!
    🙂

    • CubicleViews says:

      I’d be perfectly happy to throw some of those people out with the bath water. 🙂

      BTW love the BANG so big it could replace the defibrillator in hospitals!

  5. Pingback: Winecone Wednesday – Independence Day Edition | Stream of the Conscious

  6. Pingback: Winecone Wednesday – Independence Day Edition » A Nervous Tic Motion

  7. Pingback: The Weekly TPS Report – July 6 | The Cubicle Views

Leave a Reply

