Ungrateful homeless people piss me off

The tagline of my blog is:
Observations, thoughts & random bitching about cube life, food, beer, wine, whiskey and sometimes politics. Living the dream in a 6×8 doorless polyester walled cell.

Most of the time I write complain about the comings and goings on of my daily life toiling in the cube. But, I find the need to hit on one of the random things that’s been bugging me for a few days – ungrateful homeless people.

First some background…

Those who know me (or have read this blog for some time now) know that I am not a Democrat, nor am I a Republican. That is by choice. Primarily because each choice sucks. So, I’ve chosen to be Independent. I’m independent by my political nature and what I hope is also in my general way of thinking.

Despite my bitching, I know I’ve got it pretty good compared to many. I’m no 1%er mind you, but I’m also not living under a bridge – though as I’ve written previously, my daughter is fully prepared to be a hobo.

The Mrs and I make a decent amount of money and I like my toys, but like my daughter, we’re prepared and save as much as we can “just in case”. At the same time, we donate, what I believe, is a pretty substantial amount of money to a few different causes that are near and dear to us. I believe charity starts with individuals and isn’t a responsibility of the government – essentially, give what you can and are comfortable with.

But, I’ve had it with ungrateful homeless people.

I know many aren’t homeless by choice and were dealt some seriously rough hands. I also know that many are seriously in need of mental help. So why have I had it with ungrateful homeless people? Let me tell you a little story…

The other morning I stopped by the local bagel shop with my kid to get a little morning treat. The boy and I walked into the bagel shop and placed our order. While the boy waited, I decided to run next door to get a really large cup of coffee from my local “it’s on every corner” coffee chain.

As I walked between the shops I saw a lady outside who I’d seen many times in the same location. No it wasn’t one of the local moms hanging out waiting to gab with her lady friends, it was a lady who clearly was down on her luck and one who I’d seen begging for money from people on occasion.

I didn’t think anything of it as I didn’t have any change and, even if I did, I wouldn’t have given it to her. That’s not because I don’t feel for her position, but I’ve found that generally the homeless squander their hard begged cash on alcohol, cigarettes and/or drugs.

This doesn’t mean I don’t “give” to them. On the contrary. In fact, I’ve been known to ask, and buy, this one particular homeless dude who I’ve seen outside of a Subway on many occasions if he’d like some food. My theory, cash might get them drugs, but a 6″ turkey with the works and a soda will keep them alive and help them get back on track. And, in this particular dudes case, I saw the thanks written all across his face as he ate fresh.

Anyway, after getting my coffee I walked outside to meet up with the boy and head home.

FYI – before someone rips me for buying some $6 coffee those who know me know I only get a drip coffee and it’s under $2 at most…plus it’s my money so I can do with it as I see fit.

So, when I got outside I witnessed another lady, who was in the bagel shop with us earlier, doing what I’ve often done – smiling and giving the homeless person some food, in this case a bagel and coffee, then walking off. A very nice gesture wasn’t it?

As I got into my car with the boy and started it up for the drive home, I looked to my left, right and left again (the boy is of driving age and needs a good example set – so says Mrs CV). Well, when I looked left for the second time I saw the homeless lady look into the bagel bag, close it and proceed to throw the bagel and coffee into the garbage.

Really? At that early hour and in your “down and out nature” you aren’t hungry? Nor thirsty? Even if someone just 20 mins before had bought her some food, perhaps you save it for lunch? No, you throw it out because a whole wheat bagel with cream cheese and a nice hot cup of coffee just don’t cut it.

Lady, I don’t know what put you in the position you’re in and honestly, this probably sounds bad, but I’m not sure I care.

Don’t get me wrong, but I truly hope that those who really need help get it, but you aren’t getting it from me.

I will continue to support those charities that are near and dear to me as best I can, but lady, you aren’t one of them.

If you as a reader are someone who is like my daughter and feels bad for the homeless, that’s great and I admire your nature. Feel free to do what you will with your hard earned money.

I wish this particular lad good luck, but she will never get a dime or food from me, because she is not my charity of choice.

About CubicleViews

Observations, thoughts & random bitching about cube life, food, beer, wine, whiskey and sometimes politics. Living the dream in a 6×8 doorless polyester walled cell.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ungrateful homeless people piss me off

  1. It is NEVER ok to mindlessly trash coffee.

    Although now that i think about it, I’ve had the work coffee at my office and that’s more like sludge so I’m not gonna bemoan a newbie who can’t hack it and realizes the error of his ways. And that’s sorta the homeless person’s job right? Except if my job had fancy coffee then we’re back to it’s never ok.

    How about a simple “no thank you” next time? Whatever happened to that old idiom, “beggars can’t be choosers?”

    • CubicleViews says:

      Exactly! Well not all the ramblings 😉 but the simple no thank you, beggars can’t be choosers and most important coffee is liquid gold. NEVER throw it out. Even if it sucks just add some form of alcohol and BOOM a tasty beverage.

  2. Amy says:

    Just swinging on by to say a hearty “AMEN!”

  3. Reminds me of when Dateline did a show on the homeless & how much $ they make “pretending”. they are in need when really they are not. There are plenty of services dedicated to helping the homeless if they need it.

    • CubicleViews says:

      I hope people who need help get it in one way or another. But this lady pissed me off because its clear she just wants (and maybe needs) money but seriously when someone shows generosity like that and you just throw it away…pisses me off.

      Also spend some time in SF or at any freeway exit and you’ll quickly notice many of these people have cars, cell phones, etc.

      Again I hope they all get the “help” the “need”. Also most who give them $s are beyond naive.

Leave a Reply

