The Weekly (more or less) TPS Report – Oct 11 and 18

Yeah, I know. I didn’t post one last week so how can you call it “weekly”? Well, if you combine 2 weeks it’s still sorta weekly right?

  • Sometimes (most of the time) I think that bosses ask for reports just to keep you busy and they really have no intention of looking at them.
  • I try to read other’s blogs as much as I can in between family time and work time, because there’s some great stuff out there. The other day I read a post by Jen over at People I Want to Punch in the Throat entitled – 8 Ways to Say F*ck You. I’ve gotta work on using some of these more “HR friendly” options.  Nice work Jen.
  • Voluntarily scheduling myself for a 3 hour webinar in the earlier afternoon is the work equivalent of a 4 year old telling their mom that they would like to go take a nap. It just doesn’t happen. Yet, in my case, it did. WTF was I thinking?
  • Last week I wrote about how we’ve gotten what we deserved. Further I suggested that it’s high time we get a congressional overhaul done. I think I got someone’s attention based on this phone call I got at home.BWGwbDbCEAAvork
  • My dogs are amazing (or freaks of nature). On a 5 mile walk I’m pretty sure they peed about 5-6 gallons worth. That’s some serious bladders.
  • A presentation should never have more than 15 slides. But, one of my coworkers decided that they needed over 40 for this particular session. That’s a ton of material, yet somehow I can’t remember any of it. Thanks Words With Friends.
  • You think work is hard? Try being a parent.
    Never had kids? Then there’s no way you get that statement.
  • One of my readers sent me this picture saying that it reminded them of me. Well there’s at least one person who’s really read this blog.BWyQR_HCQAA89gU

And, in this (and last) week’s News Ripped From The Headlines…

  • A middle school in Long Island decided that allowing kids to burn off energy by playing and being, well…kids, just isn’t appropriate. You see they’ve determined that playing isn’t really safe. Or perhaps that their lawyers decided it wasn’t financially safe for them. Shit, I get that. A kid gets hurt on the playground and some parent will likely sue them on the grounds that the school officials didn’t do everything they could to protect that child from harm. Then, the school will have to settle out of court for a ton of dollars. So, in the end, I don’t blame the school. I think what they are doing is stupid. I think what they are doing is actually harming the kids, because they will have major pent up energy and not be able to focus in class. And, that, in many cases, will lead to wanting to put the kids on drugs to “balance them out”. So, in the end, I blame lawyers. Lawyers are the root of major evil in this country. Unfortunately, they are a necessary evil. Sucks doesn’t it?
  • Soon, drones may be able to make their lethal decisions on their own. How could this possibly go wrong?
  • Back to lawyers again. Lawyers have forced the world to put words like “Caution Content is Hot” on our coffee cups. But, who decided to put this “no shit sherlock” words on this cup?

BWFW9yACMAANipx

  • So the Government shutdown is over now and all the mainstream press can say is how the GOP lost big time. Unfortunately, I think it’s pretty clear we all lost.
  • And, with that it’s time to get back to work you 18% percent of non-essential government workers. How you feeling about your job now?
    Don’t worry…we’ll get to do it all over again in January.
  • Meanwhile hiding out in the shadows of the shutdown was the launch of Obamacare. Which, as far as launches go, was more like one of those North Korean rocket launches. If there were a launch of a product like this from any public company, that public company would be out of business. Think it’s gone well? Check this out – and no it’s not a Fox bash Democrats piece it’s from CNN.
  • I find it really odd that the whole country was up in arms about the thought that the NSA might have access to records of who we called. Now that it appears the NSA has so much more than that no one seems to care. I don’t get you folks.

In this week’s “Today’s Fun Fact” from 1,227 Quite Interesting Facts to Blow Your Socks Off I bring you this: George W. Bush and Saddam Hussein had their shoes hand-made by the same Italian shoemaker.

And, to close out these week, my favorite search term leading people to my blog this week was:Screen Shot 2013-10-17 at 10.43.43 PM

Yeah, so…From Russia With Love?Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 6.30.29 AM

About CubicleViews

Observations, thoughts & random bitching about cube life, food, beer, wine, whiskey and sometimes politics. Living the dream in a 6×8 doorless polyester walled cell.
This entry was posted in Weekly TPS Report. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Weekly (more or less) TPS Report – Oct 11 and 18

  1. sidd76 says:

    ha ha ha I know what you mean about the voluntary webinar, I get those too from my overseer boss. I only volunteer when I’m voluntold. Oh and yes bosses ask for reports so that they think we think they have tabs on us. Truthfully most bosses have no clue.

Leave a Reply

